Students at VIS are following the Cambridge syllabuses for all subjects except Danish. When they enter their 10th school year (corresponds to 9th grade in the Danish school system), they will commence their IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education). All subjects are taught at this level and they're expected to do exams in all subjects after two years. 

The candidates are also entitled to be awarded an ICE (International Certificate of Education). In order to get an ICE, students need to do exams in 7 subjects from five categories. The system is as follows (taken from

The Cambridge IGCSE subjects are grouped into five curriculum areas:

  • Group I: Languages
  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Group III: Sciences
  • Group IV: Mathematics
  • Group V: Creative, Technical and Vocational

Cambridge ICE is awarded to candidates who pass in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including two from Group 1 and one from each of Groups 2 to 5. The seventh subject may be chosen from any of the syllabus groups

Candidates who qualify for the Cambridge ICE award will be placed in one of three categories: 

Distinction - Grade A or better in five subjects and grade C or better in two subjects. 

Merit - Grade C or better in five subjects and grade F or better in two subjects. 

Pass - Grade G or better in seven subjects. 

Another important benefit that Cambridge ICE offers is that candidates can demonstrate competence across a wide range of subjects and skills. Cambridge ICE carries greater currency in its own right in those countries where it is popular.